5%

qeustions-askYears ago, for some insane reason I saved all my notes from high school. And hauled them around from apartment to apartment for years. For at least a decade.

I have no idea why I kept my notes because the general theme throughout my schooling was  room for improvement.  Not only did I have a compulsion to keep my notes, I kept notes that proclaimed that I was a terrible student.  There were no A+++++ reports or awards of merit but assignments and tests filled with many, MANY red ink comments that were often longer than the actual assignment.

I even kept an essay that netted me at 5%. Yes 5%.  Naturally a teacher who was actually interested in teaching would have at least inquired about my interpretation of the exercise since it was obvious I completely misunderstood the assignment. I went to school in a small town and everyone knew that this teacher was going through a nasty divorce and I guess she took out her frustration on me. I suppose I should be grateful as there was a time when teachers just beat children with a ruler if they failed to understand a lesson.

Eventually I came to my senses and took the notes I had (and some stored at my parent’s place) and dumped them into their kitchen wood stove. Yes a little part of me wanted to dump the 5% teacher into the wood stove but you can’t get everything you wish for in life.

If 5% teacher were to read this essay she might find the following insights/themes:

  •  Adults can be assholes.
  • Some assholes happen to be teachers.
  • Don’t let asshole teachers ruin learning stuff for ya.

AND of course,

Clutter is bad.

Leave a Reply

